Outline of Three Region Amendment to the NYS Constitution

- Once upon a time New York State had major economic based manufacturing jobs but now good jobs are moving out of state.
- Many counties in upstate NY have lost population.
- We are losing our young people to other states because there are no jobs here for them to stay once, they get their education. This in turn is producing a population that is significantly older.
- Unnecessary regulations are restricting people rights and driving businesses from NY state.

While the approval of both Congress and State Legislature is needed to divide NY into two states, an amendment to our New York state constitution is all that is needed to divide our state into completely autonomous regions which is almost the same as being separate states. Since Congress is unlikely give the Northeast two more US Senate seats a new state would require; the three autonomous regions plan, with a token state government, is more likely to succeed.

The **New York Region** shall consist of the counties Bronx, Kings, New York, Queens and Richmond, The **Montauk Region** shall consist of Nassau, Rockland, Suffolk- and Westchester. **New Amsterdam Region** consists of the rest of NY State's the counties.

This Amendment creates **three fully autonomous regions** most of the state's powers are transferred to each region. The token state government is needed to comply with the US constitution is kept small by limiting its taxing power to a three (3) percent sales tax; with all other taxing power to transferred to the regions. The token state laws are limited to those related to Executive (for the state only), Indian, Legislative (for the state only), National Guard, Retirement & Social Security, State Administrative Procedure & State Finance (for the state only), Civil Service (state employees only), Court of Appeals, State Court of Claims, State Judicial Conduct. **All rest of the laws, which are about 3/4 of NY laws,** become regional laws of each region and are deleted from the state code. **Each region can then independently modify them.**

Regional Senators from all regions **will also serve** as the New York State Senate; Regional Assemblypersons from all regions **will also serve** as the New York State Assembly. The regular sessions for regional Legislatures are limited to January, February, and March. Fiscal years of each region will be from March 1 to last day of February. The State Legislature regular session is limited to April and May; The State fiscal year, from May 1 to April 30.

Each region shall have an elected regional governor, regional lieutenant-governor, and regional secretary of state. The Regional Governor appoints most Regional officials

including the Regional Education Commissioner; the Regional Secretary of State appoints the Regional Attorney General and Regional Motor Vehicles Commissioner. The token state government will keep an elected-governor, lieutenant-governor, and comptroller.

In order to prevent opposition, the **transfer of state departments/agencies/employees to regional departments/agencies/employees is explained in detail in the amendment and the pension system remains at the state level unchanged.** The New York or Montauk regions would still pay for their residents attending New Amsterdam's regional colleges and vice versa. Local Governments ownership rights are not affected by this Amendment so the City of New York retains ownership of its water system. The NY and Montauk regions would be allowed to keep ownership of some of the prisons in the New Amsterdam region.

Most of the powers of the Court of Appeals powers are transferred to each newly created Regional Superior Courts which has final say on ruling on its' region laws. Felonies can only be enacted under regional law. Judicial departments are adjusted so they do not cross regional boundaries.

For more details go to www.divideny.org